Skip to Main Content


The Texas State Board of Pharmacy is the primary agency responsible for regulating the practice of pharmacy, operation of pharmacies, and the distribution of prescription drugs throughout Texas.1

  1. Composition2

    The Board is composed of 11 members appointed by the governor with consent of the State Senate.

    1. Seven of the eleven members must be pharmacists. The Board must have representation from pharmacists employed in Class “A” (Community pharmacy) and Class “C” (Institutional pharmacy). Pharmacist members must be practicing and residing in Texas, and must have been licensed for the five years preceding appointment to the Board.

    2. Three members will represent the public. For public members to qualify for the Board, neither the public member nor their spouse is permitted to be registered, certified, or licensed by an occupational regulatory agency in the field of health care (e.g., pharmacist, nurse, physician). Additionally, public members are not permitted to own greater than 10% interest in a business that is regulated by the Board.

    3. One member must be a pharmacy technician. The pharmacy technician member must be practicing and reside in Texas, and must have been a registered pharmacy technician for the five years preceding appointment to the Board.

  2. Term

    1. Members of the Board serve staggered six-year terms. The terms of either 3 or 4 members expire every other year at midnight on the last day of the state’s fiscal year in the last year of the member’s term.

    2. A member may not serve more than two consecutive, full terms. The completion of the unexpired portion of a full term is not considered a full term.

1Texas Pharmacy Act § 554

2Texas Pharmacy Act § 552


Most pharmacy employees must be registered with the State Board of Pharmacy. Registration categories include pharmacist, pharmacist-intern, and pharmacy technician.3

A person may not impersonate a pharmacist or use the title “Registered Pharmacist” or “R.Ph.” or words of similar intent, unless the person is licensed to practice pharmacy in this state.

  1. Eligibility. To be eligible for licensure as a pharmacist, applicants must:

    1. Be at least 18 years old and of good moral character;

    2. Complete 1,500 hours of internship experience approved by the Board;

    3. Have graduated and received a professional practice degree from an accredited pharmacy degree program;

    4. Pass both the NAPLEX and MPJE with a minimum score of 75; and

    5. Have not had a pharmacist license in another state restricted, suspended, revoked, or surrendered for any reason.

  2. Reciprocal Licensure

    1. Licensees from another state may apply for licensure upon completion of Texas and NABP required forms.

    2. Must show proof that their current license or any other license to practice has not been suspended, revoked, canceled, surrendered, or otherwise restricted for any reason.

    3. The State that the pharmacist wishes to transfer their license from, ...

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.