Skip to Main Content

REGISTRATION AS PHARMACY TECHNICIAN

REGISTRATION REQUIREMENT

  1. Age 16 or older.

  2. Has not engaged in misconduct or bad behavior.

  3. Is attending or has graduated from an accredited high school or has a high school equivalency certificate (GED).

  4. Has filed an application for registration.

APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION AS A PHARMACY TECHNICIAN

An applicant can file an application to the Division, together with the following:

  • Copy of his or her high school diploma or its equivalent, or proof of current enrollment in a high school program; and

  • The required fee.

A technician certificate of registration must be displayed and visible to the public in the pharmacy where the pharmacy technician is employed. Every registered pharmacy technician shall notify the Division of any change in the address on record within 30 days after the change. No person who holds an active Illinois pharmacist license may concurrently hold an active Illinois pharmacy technician registration.

(68 IL ADC Section 1330.200)

PHARMACY TECHNICIAN JOB FUNCTIONS

A registered pharmacy technician under the supervision of a pharmacist can:

Figure 1:

Responsibilities of Registered Pharmacy Technician

WHAT MAY A PHARMACY TECHNICIAN NOT ENGAGE IN THE PRACTICE OF PHARMACY?

A pharmacy technician cannot perform the following job functions:

  • Dispensing in the absence of a pharmacist.

  • Transferring a prescription to another pharmacy.

  • Selling Schedule V controlled substance (exempt narcotics).

  • Counseling patients, except for student pharmacist, pharmacy intern, or a pharmacy graduate from another state who works in IL and is waiting to be licensed in IL as a pharmacist.

  • Performing drug regimen review or clinical conflict resolution.

STUDENT PHARMACIST AS PHARMACY TECHNICIAN

A student pharmacist is any registered pharmacy technician who enrolled in a professional pharmacy program or has graduated from such program within the last 18 months. He or she must meet all requirements of a pharmacy technician and pay the required fees, but is exempt from certification requirements.

The Department won't renew the pharmacy technician license if you have any of the following:

  • Has been registered as a "student pharmacist;" and

  • Has dropped out of or been expelled from an ACPE accredited college of pharmacy, failed to complete the 1,200 hours of clinical training within 24 months, or has failed the pharmacist licensure exam 3 times

The Department then will require you to meet the requirements of and become a certified pharmacy technician.

NON-TRADITIONAL PHARM.D. STUDENTS

Anyone who is enrolled in a non-traditional Pharm.D. program at an ACPE accredited college of pharmacy and is a licensed pharmacist under the laws of another state, is permitted to engage in the ...

Pop-up div Successfully Displayed

This div only appears when the trigger link is hovered over. Otherwise it is hidden from view.