Skip to Main Content

Advisory Board

Terry L. Schwinghammer, PharmD

Dr. Terry L. Schwinghammer is Professor and Chair, Department of Clinical Pharmacy, West Virginia University School of Pharmacy. He received BS and PharmD degrees from Purdue University and completed a pharmacy residency at Indiana University Hospitals in Indianapolis. He is a Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist and has practiced in adult inpatient pharmacotherapy and ambulatory care. He is a past recipient of the American Pharmacists Association-APPM Distinguished Achievement Award in Clinical/Pharmacotherapeutic Practice. In 2006, he was named a Distinguished Practitioner in the National Academies of Practice. He was inducted into the Academy of Excellence in Teaching and Learning of the WVU Health Sciences Center in 2009.

In addition to authoring over 60 research papers and journal articles, he is co-editor of The Pharmacotherapy Casebook (McGraw-Hill), The Pharmacotherapy Handbook (McGraw-Hill), and Pharmacotherapy Principles & Practice (McGraw-Hill). Dr. Schwinghammer has served the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) as Chair of the Pharmacy Practice Section, Chair of the Council of Faculties, and member of the Board of Directors. He is a past president of the Pennsylvania Society of Health-System Pharmacists (PSHP) and was named Pharmacist of the Year in 2001. He received the Sister M. Gonzales Lecture Award from PSHP in 2007. He has served as Chair of the Board of Pharmacy Specialties (BPS) and member of the Oncology Specialty Council. In 2012, he was elected to the Board of Regents of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP). He is a Fellow of ACCP, ASHP, and APhA and has been elected to the Rho Chi Pharmaceutical Honor Society and the Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society. He was named a Distinguished Alumnus of Purdue University in 2004.

Associate Editor:
Dr. Joseph T. DiPiro, PharmD

Dr. Joseph T. DiPiro is Dean of the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy. Dr. DiPiro received his Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from the University of Connecticut and Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of Kentucky. He served a residency at the University of Kentucky Medical Center and a fellowship in Clinical Immunology at Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. DiPiro is an Editor of Pharmacotherapy: A Pathophysiologic Approach (McGraw-Hill), a gold-standard text amongst students and professionals alike. He is also co-editor of the Pharmacotherapy Handbook (McGraw-Hill), Pharmacotherapy Principles and Practice (McGraw-Hill), Concepts in Clinical Pharmacokinetics (ASHP), among other titles. Dr. DiPiro is also the Editor of The American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education, the official publication of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. He has published more than 200 articles in academic and professional journals, mainly related to antibiotics, drug use in surgery, various issues in pharmacy practice, and pharmacy education.

Dr. DiPiro is Chair of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP) Council of Deans.  He has served as President of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy. He has been a member of the Surgical Infection Society Therapeutic Agents Committee and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, having served on the Commission on Therapeutics and the Task Force on Science. In 2002,  AACP selected Dr. DiPiro for the Robert K. Chalmers Distinguished Educator Award. He has also received the Russell R. Miller Literature Award and the Education Award from the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, the Award for Sustained Contributions to the Literature from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. He has been named to the FDA Advisory Committee for Gastrointestinal Drugs.